Diktionaries online

28 Aug

Today I found out what monolingual dictionaries I want to use in my english class. I came to the conclusion that there were three I liked after trying out a lot of different sites.

Here they are:

1 http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/

I liked this one the best. There are almost no ads on the page and its weary tidy. The search gave a good result and the words are carefully described.

2 http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

This one was the second best in my opinion.  There were some ads, but not to many. The place you search is easy to find on the page and its tidy.

3 http://thesaurus.com/browse/

This page gives good results, but its a lot of ads on it.  Its not that easy to see that you can use it as a dictionary.

 All these sites are monolingual dictionaries and explaines the word. You can’t use them to translate a word into another language. All the sites have commercial but I like the ones that dont have as many ads. I feel like they are more neat.

.Image

 

One Response to “Diktionaries online”

  1. Ann S. Michaelsen 31/08/2012 at 15:32 #

    I agree with you, adds and commercials make it more difficult to use. Still, that is why they are free! if you pay you don’t get the ads! Seems like you have really considered the different dictionaries. Will be interesting to see if you change your mind after using them!

Leave a Reply

