Being young in Norway

4 Sep

When it comes to being young in Norway, I consider myself quite the expert.  As I’m 17 and have been living in Norway my whole life. I believe that being young in Norway is really easy compared to being young in many other countries. We get all the education in life and we don’t have a lot of worries. The opportunities Norwegian teenagers have access to are truly amazing, but I don’t think we know how lucky we are. Most of us don’t have to worry about money or safety. We are very fortunate to live in a safe environment and the majority of us have enough money to live a good life. We also have free medical care and health care in Norway so we don’t have to think twice about going to the doctor or huge medical bills if anything should happen.

I think I’m really lucky to be young in Norway. We have everything a teen could ask for just minutes away from where we live, like cinemas, soccer fields and shopping centers. We also have a lot of different subjects and several options when it comes to education. This can really help us to figure out what we want to study at university when we finish High School.

Being young in a county where everyone has more than they really need can also be difficult. The society can become really materialistic and the pressure to have expensive items can be a problem.  The pressure to follow trends and wear the same things as everyone else is wearing can be humiliating for the people who can’t afford to spend that kind of money. I think it can be a bit unhealthy to live under that kind of pressure, because in my opinion it’s not the clothes a person wears that defines them.

Neither more I am thankful that I get to experience my teenage years in Norway. And I am really excited to see what the future brings. 

6 Responses to “Being young in Norway”

  1. bdstebbing 05/09/2013 at 09:40 #

    I also worry about the growth of materialistic attitudes in Norway. Not only in teenagers, but in the popluation as a whole, there is an increasing tendency to “show off”.

  2. helenegrova 05/09/2013 at 10:41 #

    I agree with you! And I like your blog 🙂

  3. Hanna 05/09/2013 at 10:43 #

    Great post, Hanne! I agree, we are very fortunate to live here, but the pressure on being “perfect” is too high.

  4. Emilie 05/09/2013 at 10:56 #

    I think you have some great reflections. Our society has become way too materialistic and the pressure among teenagers is too high. Maybe you could reflect upon what we could do to change this?

  5. Charlie Louisson 15/08/2014 at 08:03 #

    I am so excited and have just found out that I am coming to norway on a student exchange in december. Can anyone give me some tips on what to wear to school and keep the cold at bay.

  6. Gina 15/01/2015 at 00:30 #

    I am doing a search for students from Norway that have visited America or studied here. I am in CA. What are the differences in our country than yours?

Leave a Reply

