My first impressions of “Carthage”

23 Apr

I am currently reading the book “Carthage” written by Joyce Carol Oates, and so far am I enjoying it. The book is about a girl who has gone missing in a small town called Carthage. Her dad is a former mayor and a well-known lawyer in town, and her whole family has a good reputation.

carthage

I still have not found out what happened to the girl and am really intrigued to know what happened. She was with her sisters ex-fiance before she disappeared, and the police have found blood in his car. But I am not sure if he is the reason for her disappearance. I got a bit confused when the story suddenly changed the angle, and we got to know the sister of the missing girl. The sister is going on about her wedding, and talking to her fiance, but she never seems to get any response. Bur later on it gets a bit clearer as we get to know that he is a war veteran. He has not managed to leave the war in Iraq behind and is tremendously affected by what he saw.

So far am I really enjoying all the twists and turns in the book. When I start to think that I have the solution to the mystery, Oates manages to make me get a whole new perspective of the suspects. I also like that the book isn’t written from the police or a detective’s point of view, but the families.

My first impression of the book is good, and I am looking forward to finishing it, and finding out what actually happened in Carthage!

One Response to “My first impressions of “Carthage””

  1. Ann S. Michaelsen 15/05/2015 at 09:49 #

    Looks like you are enjoying the book and that you enjoy reading it.

Leave a Reply

